Sata’s Third Cabinet Reshuffle Causes Confusion

For the third time in less than 10 months, President Michael Sata has reshuffled his cabinet and created new ministries, prompting some confusion among political observers over the roles of different state institutions.

Sata has appointed Chongwe Member of Parliament Sylvia Masebo as Minister of Tourism (the third person to hold the ministry in the Sata government), relinquishing the portfolio from Foreign Affairs Minister Given Lubinda.

The president has also “realigned” several cabinet ministers by introducing Edgar Lungu as Home Affairs Minister while moving Kennedy Sakeni to the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting in the same capacity, meaning that Fackson Shamenda is now just Minister of Labour.

The splitting of portfolios from Lubinda and Shamenda also implies the creation of a separate Ministry of Tourism and a separate Ministry of Labour.

President Sata made the unannounced change and swore in Masebo who is former local government minister in the MMD with five other at State House this morning.

He also swore-in Dr Ronald Msiska as deputy secretary to Cabinet to join Teddy Mulonga who is already serving under Evans Chibiliti.

Former Ministry of Health and Permanent Secretary in the previous MMD government Dr Velepi Mtonga also bounced back as PS for Public Service management division.

Others employed are Pamela Chibonga and Felix Nkulukusa, both of whom have been appointed permanent secretary at the Ministry of Finance in charge of Budget Affairs and Economic Management respectively.

President Sata further conferred four senior lawyers with the status of State Counsel:  John Mulwila, Mukande Mwikisa, Emmanuel Mwansa, and Mwilak Chitabo.

President Sata previously shuffled the cabinet in January, in April (although it is still not clear if Wynter Kabimba has a cabinet portfolio, or is simply #2 in the protocol), and in May.

Comments are closed.