Zambia, Ghana Name Teams for Epic Clash

Herve RenardZambia and Ghana named 26 players apiece for their epic clash in a Brazil 2014 World Cup qualifier on September 6.

The match is set for Kumasi where Zambia must win while the hosts need only a draw to make the last 10 teams that will battle for the eventual five spots available to Africa for the globe’s biggest sporting event.

Zambia coach Herve Renard has called Belgium-based striker Roger Kola, defenders Emmanuel Mbola and Kampamba Chintu among 26 players for the qualifier against Ghana.

Kola returns to the team after a two-year absence, Mbola was summoned for the World Cup qualifiers against Lesotho and Sudan. Chintu was dropped prior to the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations finals.

Kola campaigns for Belgian side KAA Gent, while Mbola and Chintu are globetrotting in search of securing professional deals.

Striker Collins Mbesuma of South African side Orlando Pirates, who missed the international friendly against Senegal in Paris on August 14 is in Renard’s plans for the match in Kumasi.

China-based skipper Christopher Katongo leads the squad that has 19 foreign-based players and seven local stars.

The local players are Danny Munyao, Joshua Titima, Kabaso Chongo, Christopher Munthali, Bronson Chama, Kondwani Mtonga and Bruce Musakanya.

Meanwhile, Ghana coach Kwesi Appiah has included Michael Essien, Kelvin Prince-Boateng and Andre Ayew to face Zambia in next Friday’s crucial 2014 World Cup qualifier at Baba Yara Stadium in Kumasi.

Essien, who had pleaded to be excluded from the country’s squad to fight for his position at his English Premiership side Chelsea, is a surprise inclusion.

Prince-Boateng and Ayew have ended their self-exposed exile from the Black Stars.


Goalkeepers: Kennedy Mweene, Danny Munyao, Joshua Titima.

Defenders: Kabaso Chongo, Davies Nkausu, Joseph Musonda, Emmanuel Mbola, Christopher Munthali, Bronson Chama, Stopilla Sunzu, Hichani Himoonde, Kampamba Chintu

Midfielders: Kondwani Mtonga, Nathan Sinkala, Fwayo Tembo, Rainford Kalaba, Mukuka Mulenga, Bruce Musakanya, Chisamba Lungu, Noah Chivuta, Christopher Katongo

Strikers: Jacob Mulenga, Emmanuel Mayuka, Collins Mbesuma, James Chamanga and Roger Kola.


Goalkeepers: Fatau Dauda (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Adam nKwarasey (Stromsgodset, Norway), Razak Braimah (CD Guadalajara, Spain)

Defenders: Daniel Opare (Standard Liege, Belgium), Samuel Inkoom (Dnipro, Ukraine), Harrison Afful (Esperance, Tunisia), Baba Rahman (Greuther Furth, Germany), Jonathan Mensah (Evian TG, France), John Boye (Rennes, France), Lee Addy (Dinamo Zagreb,Croatia), Rashid Sumaila (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Awal Mohammed (Maritzburg United, South Africa)

Midfielders: Christian Atsu (Porto, Portugal), Michael Essien (Chelsea,
England), Solomon Asante (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Rabiu Mohammed (Kuban Krasnodar, Russia), Kwadwo Asamoah (Juventus, Italy), Mubarak Wakaso (Espanyol, Spain), Yussif Rahman Chibsah (Sassuolo, Italy), Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu (Udinese, Italy), Andre Ayew (Marseille, France), Kevin Prince Boateng (AC Milan, Italy)

Strikers: Asamoah Gyan (Al Ain, UAE), Mahatma Otoo (Sogndal, Norway), Abdul Majeed Waris (Spartak Moscow), Dominic Adiyiah (Arsenal Kyiv, Ukraine) and Albert Adomah (Middlesbrough, England)

Comments are closed.