Miles Sampa Wins Disputed PF General Conference

Following days of chaos and dramatic infighting at the Patriotic Front (PF) General Conference, Matero Member of Parliament Miles Sampa has won the presidential candidacy.

The results were announced to fervent cheering among the delegates, with Acting President Guy Scott proclaiming Mr Sampa the official PF candidate.

Following resignations by Chisimba Kambwili, Given Lubinda, Wilbur Simuusa, and a no show by former First Lady Dr Christine Kaseba, the final counted results were 4 votes for Ambassador Ambassador Seleman Phangula Banda, 7 votes for Commerce Minister Bob Sichinga, 5 votes for Edgar Lungu, 195 votes for Geoffrey Bwalya Mwamba, and Miles Sampa with a landslide victory margin of 900 votes.

Sampa’s adoption is likely to be disputed by Edgar Lungu, who has claimed victory during an earlier session where he ran unopposed against any other candidates and has an injunction standing against the party which was ignored.

Comments are closed.