Messi Crowned FIFA Best Player of the Year

In an opulent ceremony that saw a star-studded cast of footballing talent descend on Milan’s Teatro alla Scala, the beautiful game’s foremost artistes saw their performances rewarded at The Best FIFA Football Awards™ in one of the globe’s cultural centres.


Lionel Messi and Jurgen Klopp took home the leading honours for The Best FIFA Men’s Player and Men’s Coach respectively, after their outstanding 2018/19 campaigns which saw both scoop silverware and individual accolades galore. It was a bumper year for the USA as Megan Rapinoe and Jill Ellis were rewarded for their part in the Stars and Stripes’ triumph at the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019™ as The Best FIFA Women’s Player and Women’s Coach respectively.

In an event very much geared towards celebrating the women’s game, to honour the legacy of the record-breaking France 2019, Sari van Veenendaal was named the inaugural The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper, joining her custodian counterpart Alisson who picked up The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper award.

There was recognition for a women’s ‘dream team’ for the first time at The Best FIFA Football Awards, with FIFA and FIFPro combining for the first time to honour the FIFA FIFPro Women’s World11. The recipients of the inaugural award were a veritable who’s who of France 2019, with the aforementioned Sari van Veenendaal joined by USA stars Kelley O’Hara, Julie Ertz, Rose Lavelle, Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe as well as French duo Wendie Renard and Amandine Henry, Brazilian legend Marta, England’s outstanding performer Lucy Bronze and Swedish rock Nilla Fischer.

The FIFA FIFPro Men’s World11 saw a number of new names enter the fray. Alisson made his debut in the ‘dream team’, alongside Dutch trio Matthijs de Ligt, Frenkie de Jong and Virgil van Dijk. The remainder of the side – Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Eden Hazard, Luka Modric, Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe and Lionel Messi – retained their place from the 2018 World11. Both star-studded line-ups were elected by thousands of players from across the globe.

The players had their say, and so did the fans, who voted for the heartwarming story of Silvia Grecco to take home the FIFA Fan Award. A public vote also determined the top three of the FIFA Puskás Award, with a panel of FIFA Legends ultimately choosing Daniel Zsori’s remarkable overhead kick as a worthy goal of the year.

The FIFA Fair Play Award was taken home by Marcelo Bielsa and the Leeds United squad, after the Argentinean coach and his team ultimately sacrificed promotion for his team to uphold the values of fair play – instructing his Leeds United team to allow an equaliser after his side had gone 1-0 up with an opposition player down injured.

In an evening that saw the remarkable talents of the Teatro alla Scala Orchestra showcased as the musical entertainment, it was fitting that the orchestrators of beautiful music on pitches the world over were recognised as The Best in Milano.

The Best, in full

Men’s Player: Lionel Messi

Women’s Player: Megan Rapinoe

Men’s Coach: Jurgen Klopp

Women’s Coach: Jill Elliss

Women’s Goalkeeper: Alisson

Women’s Goalkeeper: Sari van Veenendaal

Puskás Award: Daniel Zsori

Fan Award: Silvia Grecco

Fair Play Award: Marcelo Bielsa

Men’s World11: Alisson; Matthijs de Ligt, Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Virgil van Dijk; Frenkie de Jong, Eden Hazard, Luka Modric; Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi

Women’s World11: Sari van Veenendaal; Lucy Bronze, Nilla Fischer, Kelley O’Hara, Wendie Renard; Julie Ertz, Amandine Henry, Rose Lavelle; Marta, Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe

(Source: FIFA.COM)


  1. Eversty


  2. Eversty

    Congratulations, for the hardwork

  3. observa

    Congrats!! He is simply the best eve

  4. Ba Gaza

    Indeed messi deserve that honour 51 goals in 50 appearances he’s incredible I cherish his dribbling a lot congratulation the king of football

  5. Wallen mwanza

    Reporters be serious Allison won women’s goalkeeper? Ok congraturcongra Messi the king of worlds football . Messi voted for Ronaldo but Ronaldo didn’t vote for Messi , I want to see someone voting for his rival in 2021

  6. Nyeeeeeeleti 🦉

    What s fuck! Biasness, I don’t agree.atleast even ka nomination for mo Salah and sadio mane.

  7. Nyeeeeeeleti 🦉

    What a fuck! Biasness, I don’t agree.atleast even ka nomination for mo Salah and sadio mane.

  8. boogeyman

    but mu zambia we always mess up everything ati allison won women’s goalkeeper

  9. Elico

    The might messi is always the best at all time

  10. Elico

    And ter stegen suppose to be the best goal keeper

  11. Malambo

    Congratulations Mr Lionel messi

  12. Chelsea man

    Messi the great ever


    Congratulations Messi with the same spirit my prayer

  14. mi-jay

    congratulations boi …..well done u deserve to be crowned

  15. Mumba

    He is a hard work

  16. magical minds

    Best best best messi

  17. messi

    Ka CR nima 2v chabe



  19. Mr barca

    Good job keep it up.

  20. Evaristo

    Eden Hazard my boy

  21. Elias mwikuta

    Congratulations for you best player next year it will be ronaldo

  22. Donald

    Big congrats to Mercy I hope other players will emulate him by working harder

  23. WALIWA


  24. WALIWA


  25. WALIWA


  26. Simonbe


Comments are closed.