Ethiopian PM Abiy Ahmed Ali wins Nobel Peace Prize

Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed of Ethiopia won the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize, the awards committee announced in Norway on Friday.

He was recognised for starting peace talks with Eritrea and establishing a peace agreement to end the long stalemate between the two countries.

“When Abiy Ahmed reached out his hand, President Isaias Afwerki grasped it and helped to formalise the peace process between the two countries,” said Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Nobel Peace Prize Committee.

“In Ethiopia, even if much work remains, Abiy Ahmed has initiated important reforms that give many citizens hope for a better life and a brighter future.

“He spent his first 100 days as prime minister lifting the country’s state of emergency, granting amnesty to thousands of political prisoners, discontinuing media censorship, legalising outlawed opposition groups, dismissing military and civil leaders who were suspected of corruption and significantly increasing the influence of women in Ethiopian political and community life.”

The office of the Ethiopian prime minister said: “We are proud as a nation” for winning the prestigious award.

There had been plenty of speculation about  the winner ahead of the ceremony, with suggestions including 16-year-old Swedish climate activist Greta Thunberg; German Chancellor Angela Merkel; and pro-democracy activists in Hong Kong.

Since 1901, 99 Nobel Peace Prizes have been handed out to individuals and 24 organisations. While the other prizes are announced in Stockholm, the peace prize is awarded in the Norwegian capital, Oslo.

This week, 12 Nobel laureates have been named, of whom 11 are men.

Two literature prizes were awarded Thursday: One for 2018 that went to Polish novelist Olga Tokarczuk and one for 2019 that was given to Austrian author Peter Handke.

The chemistry prize went to three scientists for their work leading to the development of lithium-ion batteries; the physics award was given to a Canadian-American and two Swiss for exploring the evolution of the universe and discovering a new kind of planet; and the physiology or medicine award went to two Americans and one British scientist for discovering details of how the body’s cells sense and react to low oxygen levels.

In his will, Alfred Nobel, the Swedish industrialist and inventor of dynamite, decided the peace prize should be awarded in Oslo. His exact reasons for having an institution in Norway handing out that prize is unclear, but during his lifetime Sweden and Norway were joined in a union, which was dissolved in 1905.

The economics prize wasn’t created by Nobel, but by Sweden’s central bank in 1968. It is awarded on Monday.

With the glory comes a 9-million kronor ($918,000) cash award, a gold medal and a diploma. Even though the peace prize is awarded in Norway, the amount is denominated in Swedish kronor.

The laureates receive them at elegant ceremonies on December 10 – the anniversary of Nobel’s death in 1896 – in Stockholm and Oslo.

(Source: Aljazeera)


  1. Geoffrey Bwamba Mwalya

    May the deserving awardees get their awards for their tireless efforts…Good bless them.

  2. Majesty

    Not because of climate change

  3. The Seeker

    Zambians,learn! One is awarded for finding solutions to challenges faced, not blaming the on things you have no control of. Like our ECL is doing, blaming climate change which is as old as creation itself. Find solutions to loadsheding, shortage of medicines in hospitals, free falling Kwacha, soaring commodity prices, ensure that the country starts producing and processing it’s goods, not just importing, the list is endless. That’s why you aspired to be lead the nation in the first place. If you have failed,resign, let others take over. There’s no shame in stepping down. Don’t put the blame on nature, mind you, change is nature, the climate will keep on changing.

  4. zam zam

    why was lungu chagwa not awarded he has done so much research on how 2 make cost of living go up, no medicines in hospitals, no employment,no good salaries, in times of hunger givin its citizens 12kg to share among three families meaning each family geting 4kg of mealie_meal as relief food, he deserves an award 4 being so cruel

Comments are closed.